Friday, June 6, 2008

What to Eat Gluten-Free: Taco Bell

TK Kenyon, the Celiac Maniac, is here to tell you that Mexican food is one of the mainstays of the celiac diet. Its reliance on corn and beans makes it especially amenable.

Taco Bell, the ubiquitous fast food restaurant in the US, has some options for us gluten-free folks.

Try the following:

  • Tostada
  • Fiesta Taco Salad (order Chicken instead of Beef; order without the shell and without the Red Strips)
  • Express Taco Salad (order Chicken instead of Beef)
  • Zesty Chicken BORDER BOWL® (order without the Zesty Dressing and without the Red Strips. I use Hot or Mild Sauce instead.)
  • Southwest Steak Bowl (order without the Creamy Jalapeno Sauce)
  • Pintos N Cheese
  • Mexican Rice
  • Fruitista Freezes
  • Hot sauces (Mild and Hot, not Fire or Tomatillo.
For what to eat at 60 Chain Restaurants, including Taco Bell, Wendy's, and Burger King, consider the following ebook: 

Contrary to common sense, the hard tacos are not GF.
The beef is not GF. Contains wheat gluten. 

Taco Bell is really problematic with their gluten info on their website. For example, they say that all the hot sauces are ok, when the Fire and Tomatillo Sauce packets list wheat right on the packet. They also say that the Steak and Flatbread thingee is gluten-free, when the flatbread is obviously bread.

At this point, Taco Bell is Not Recommended for GF folks, due to serious, ongoing concerns with information from the company.

No comments: