Monday, June 30, 2008
Saturday, June 28, 2008
Currently all of our fried food is prepared in soybean oil. Our French
fries are fried in the same oil as our breaded items.
Please be aware that we do serve white and wheat hamburger buns which all contain wheat flour. Our premium knot roll and rolls used for Ruby Minis are white bread, while our Golden Bun used for most burgers is a wheat bun. All are made from wheat flour.
The following menu items are acceptable for guests with a gluten
intolerance or Celiac Sprue disease:
Steaks (with Ruby's seasoning only)
Any burger without bread (EXCLUSIONS: turkey burgers, the onion tanglers on minis, French fries)
Broccoli as currently prepared
Mashed potatoes as
Baked potato without sour cream
Salad bar with discretion (excludes prepared salads on the salad bar)
Acceptable salad dressings:
Unfortunately, for all other food items, Ruby Tuesday, Inc. cannot provide a listing of allergens that might be present in our menu items for the following reasons:
It is always possible, as we are preparing food in over 800 restaurants every day, that one item will be substituted for another, and that the substitute product's contents may be different from the ingredients in the products we normally use.
As food is being prepared in our restaurants, it often comes in contact with other food, so even though a specific item may not contain allergens, it could be affected by another food item that does.
Thursday, June 26, 2008
The batter is very thin, so don't try to put strudel or more than a light sprinkle of sugar on top. It will fall through the muffin in a "China Syndrome" meltdown and end up on the bottom.
This easy recipe can be stirred together in a mixing bowl. I let my preschooler mix the batter together in a big bowl set on the floor with a whisk. Have been doing this for two years.
Easy substitution below also makes these muffins dairy-free (casein-free and lactose-free).
You can also add up to 3/4 cup pureed vegetables to make these more nutritious in a "Sneaky Chef" way. Pureed carrots work great.
1 cup Celiac Maniac's Muffin Flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon xanthum gum
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons corn oil
2 large eggs
1/2 cup whole milk or non-dairy liquid (soymilk or non-dairy creamer works best)
1 teaspoon GF vanilla
Preheat oven to 375 F. Spray 8 cups of silicone muffin pan with GF cooking spray. (These rather low-fat muffins will stick to anything else, even paper liners. Spray 9-12 muffin cups if adding pureed veggies.)
Sift dry ingredients together to eliminate lumps onto waxed paper. Single-sift is fine.
Stir wet ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
Dump dry ingredients into the mixing bowl. Whisk or stir thoroughly. (You don't have to worry about toughening the gluten.)
Ladle the batter into the sprayed muffin cups.
Bake at 375F for 20 minutes.
If eaten right away, muffins are a little crunchy on the outside and tender in the middle. Placing warm muffins in a sealed plastic bag (like a Ziploc) will soften the crust.
Muffins stay moist in a sealed plastic bag for up to a week at room temperature, or freeze in an evacuated Ziploc bag for up to 3 months.
Tuesday, June 10, 2008
TK Kenyon, the Celiac Maniac, is pleased to tell you thatChipotle's Mexican Grill is a great place for celiacs to eat gluten-free.
Sunday, June 8, 2008
The downloadable GF menu includes a couple starters, most entrees, two sauces (mango salsa and lemon butter,) most sides, and even TWO desserts: the flourless brownie and berry creme brulee.
Friday, June 6, 2008
Taco Bell, the ubiquitous fast food restaurant in the US, has some options for us gluten-free folks.
Try the following:
- Fiesta Taco Salad (order Chicken instead of Beef; order without the shell and without the Red Strips)
- Express Taco Salad (order Chicken instead of Beef)
- Zesty Chicken BORDER BOWL® (order without the Zesty Dressing and without the Red Strips. I use Hot or Mild Sauce instead.)
- Southwest Steak Bowl (order without the Creamy Jalapeno Sauce)
- Pintos N Cheese
- Mexican Rice
- Fruitista Freezes
- Hot sauces (Mild and Hot, not Fire or Tomatillo.)
The beef is not GF. Contains wheat gluten.
Taco Bell is really problematic with their gluten info on their website. For example, they say that all the hot sauces are ok, when the Fire and Tomatillo Sauce packets list wheat right on the packet. They also say that the Steak and Flatbread thingee is gluten-free, when the flatbread is obviously bread.
At this point, Taco Bell is Not Recommended for GF folks, due to serious, ongoing concerns with information from the company.